RSS

Bulk Dry Mix for Pancakes and Waffles

16 Jan

My kids get up a bit earlier than I would like. And they wake up hungry too! My kids aren’t the kind of kids that you can shlep a bowl of cereal in front of and sit them down in front of the tv for half an hour while the coffee brews up either. Noooooo. Not my kids. My kids wake up and demand a warm breakfast every day of the week! An easy g0-to is always pancakes or waffles (we got the COOLEST waffle iron for xmas last year…)  Anyways, I keep a dry bin of pre-made pancake/waffle mix ready and waiting to go and then I just have to add the wet ingredients when we actually want to cook!

DSCF0002

Dry Mix Ingredients:
3 cups All Purpose flour
1 cup Wheat flour
1 cup dry milk powder
¼ cup sugar
1 ½ TBSP baking powder
¾ TBSP baking soda
1 tsp salt

Whisk all the ingredients together and store in an air tight container for up to two years.

To make waffles:
Take 2 ½ cups of the dry mix
2 cups water
3 eggs
and ¼ cup oil (I substitute ¼ cup applesauce)

For pancakes:
Take 2 cups of the dry mix
1 ½ cup of water
1 egg
and 2 TBSP of oil (again, I substitute applesauce)

Then you can feel free to add whatever ‘extra’s you want – bananas, strawberries, oatmeal, chocolate chips….whatever makes you happy!!

 

Leave a Reply

 
