RSS

Sweet and Sour Chicken

29 Mar

I bet you I have more recipes that call for chicken than any other protein. It’s so versatile, budget friendly, and can satisfy the tastes of both children and adults alike.

I found this recipe a few years ago when I was looking for something a little new and different to do with our latest “on sale” purchase of boneless skinless chicken breast. Food blogging and Pinterest were at their beginning stages then and I was still pretty new to cooking in general – but – I stumbled over this recipe at Mel’s Kitchen Cafe and thought I’d try this “Pinning” thing 🙂 . Let me tell you, I’m so glad I gave it a shot! I chose to make some changes in how I add the sauce to suit my own tastes and that’s all I had to do to it!

So, in honor of my first ever “Pin”, here’s an amazing Sweet and Sour Chicken Dish for you to go and try!

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Ingredients:
The Chicken Coating:
3-4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
Salt and Pepper to taste
1 cup Cornstarch
2 Eggs, Beaten
1/4 cup Canola Oil

The Sweet and Sour Sauce:
1 1/8 cup Sugar
3/4 cup White Vinegar
6 TBSP Ketchup
1.5 TBSP Soy Sauce
1 1/2 tsp Garlic Salt

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 325
2. Rinse the chicken and cut into cubes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
3. Set up your dipping station:  First bowl of cornstarch, second bowl is beaten eggs, third is a large plate or dish to hold the dipped eggs temporarily. Dip chicken into the cornstarch, egg, and plate it up – go through all of your chicken this way.
4. Heat oil in a large skillet and cook the chicken until browned but not cooked through and place into a greased casserole dish.
5. Mix the sauce ingredients and pour about 1/2 of the mix over the chicken in the casserole dish. Mix the chicken well so it is all evenly coated. Hold the remaining half of sauce to the side for later.
6. Bake chicken for 40 minutes – you need to mix/turn the chicken every ten minutes, and at the halfway point, add the remaining sauce and toss the chicken well to evenly coat it again.
7. Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 29, 2013 in Chicken, Dinner, Easy, Entree

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
