RSS

Herb Focaccia Bread

13 Apr

Now I know everybody thinks their own kid is the cutest kid ever – but I have to admit mine definitely have their moments where I just KNOW mine have just mastered the art of distracting me with their cuteness.

When she was only two years old, my daughter had this habit of trying to distract me from putting her down for her nap. She would lay down in her bed and holler out to me that she needed a specific toy or blanket or whatever nonsense that she thought would work at the time. And then she had the brilliant idea to distract me with food (because even my children know my brain is always churning in the background and thinking of menu plans or what new foods I can get the kids to eat). What this all ended up in, was a three week stint where my two year old would be bellowing out that she wants to get out of bed so she could go in the kitchen and help mommy make some “forgotcha bread” for daddy because he really likes it for a dinner treat.

Thus “Forgotcha Bread” was invented in our house and it makes a pretty regular appearance. Besides, it’s totally cute to see my kids and my husband all crowd around trying to dip their ‘forgotcha bread’ into a tiny shared bowl of olive oil and Parmesan cheese. It’s one of those happy family bickering, bantering, sharing type moments at the table that really warm my heart.

DSCF0024

This recipe is a bread machine recipe. I’m not sure how to convert it if you don’t have a bread machine. I actually got this recipe almost exactly from the Cuisinart Recipe Booklet that came with my bread machine – this isn’t one of my own inventions this time around. I altered some of the spices/quantities that flavor the bread and the topping, but the bread recipe is theirs.

(The quantities I list is for a small, one pound loaf. It is enough to feed my family of two adults and two young kids with some leftovers for the next day.)

Ingredients:
(Place ingredients into bread machine in this order:)
3/4 cup Water 80-90 degrees
1 1/2 TBSP EVOO
1/2 tsp Garlic Powder
1/4 tsp Onion Powder
1/2 tsp Oregano
1/4 tsp Parsley
1 tsp Salt
2 1/8 cup Bread Flour
1 tsp Yeast, Active Dry or Bread Machine

For the topping you will need:
1/4 cup Parmesan Cheese
1/2 tsp Sea Salt or Kosher Salt
1/4 tsp Basil
1/4 tsp Garlic Powder

Directions.
1. Place ingredients into Bread machine in above order. Set bread type to Dough/Pizza Dough and the size to Small/1 LB size. Press start. (Machine will run for about 1 hour 25 minutes.)
2. When the bread machine is done, remove the dough from the bin and punch to deflate. Let rest for 10 minutes.
3. Brush a cookie sheet with Extra Virgin Olive Oil and sprinkle with a little cornmeal. After dough has rested, roll out on a lightly floured surface to approximately 8″ x 6″ and place it upon the prepared pan. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let it rise in a warm place until doubled in size, approximately 40-50 minutes.
4. Preheat oven to 450 F and with oiled fingers, press indentations about one inch apart and 1/2 inch deep all over the surface of the dough (see picture below).

DSCF0017

Drizzle the dough with some EVOO and sprinkle with teh kosher salt, Parmesan cheese, and herbs (it will collect in the little divots you made with your fingers a bit). Place the dough in your preheated oven and bake until deep golden brown and puffed up with a crispy crust – approximately 10-15 minutes.
5. Let the bread cool on a cooling rack and then slice up and serve with some olive oil and Parmesan cheese for dipping. Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 13, 2013 in Bread, Easy, Party Foods, Sides

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
