RSS

Barbeque Pork Butt

14 Apr

Let the grilling season begin!!

It snowed yesterday morning.  Today we had a high of 72!  What’s a gal to do with such crazy weather??  IGNORE IT and grill anyways.

Simple and delicious, this is the easiest, tastiest, pork you will ever grill.

A few years back I was sitting at the dinning table and eating some leftover pork the Hubs had made the night before. It struck me that if a man had made me this dish on a date – served it up for dinner and then proposed right there and then, I would have had no choice but to say yes (after I finished chewing my bite of delicious pork of course). How else would I have been able to guarantee I would be able to eat this amazing dish again!? :-D
….though of course I had no idea how simple this dish was to make at the time. Now I know I could simply have made it myself.

DSCF0006

This dish is so delicious you will eat too much of it the first night. You will be full and try to put the rest away as leftovers but you will still be sneaking pieces out and eating while you do it. If you are fortunate enough to manage to save some leftovers, you are in for a pleasant surprise. This is one of those dishes that reheats soo well, it’s even better the next day! The time in the fridge just gives the meat longer to soak in all the BBQ sauce. MMMmmm!

DSCF0002-002

I do want to mention that it has to be Open Pit BBQ Sauce, even if you do not like Open Pit. Trust me, it makes all the difference. I personally do not (well, did not) care for Open Pit at all, but this dish simply isn’t the same any other way. No, I’m not sponsored by Open Pit and I don’t receive any compensation from them – though I wouldn’t turn it down if they offered!

Ingredients:
Pork Butt or Pork Shoulder
Open Pit BBQ Sauce
Aluminum tin or other pan
…..that’s all folks!

Directions:
1. Heat up your charcoal grill, using a sufficient amount of coal to keep it running for a few hours.
2. Push all coals to one side of your grill. Fill an aluminum pan with water and place it on the grate over the coal side of the grill.
3. Place meat on the cool side of the grill and put the lid on the grill. Make sure your vents are open on the grill lid. Set a timer for 30 minutes and walk away.
4. When your timer goes off, open your grill and flip the pork over and make sure your pan still has water (if it doesn’t….add some). Set your timer for another 30 minutes.
5. Repeat this cycle until your pork reads 165 to 170 degrees with a meat thermometer. Roughly two to three hours depending on how thick your meat is.
6. When your pork has cooked through, remove from the grill and set it aside on a cutting board. Get a casserole dish or other similar sized dish and pour enough Open Pit BBQ Sauce to thoroughly cover all of your pork. Cover the dish with plastic wrap and put the whole thing into your microwave and warm it through. Heat it for one or two minutes at a time, stirring occasionally, until it is steaming hot.
7. Slice your pork into thin pieces and place into hot BBQ Sauce. Make sure to really dredge it in there. Don’t be shy, let the stuff swim in it.
8. That’s it. Serve as it is and let your happy eaters fish out their own pork, slathered in sauce, and don’t hold back.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 14, 2013 in Dinner, Easy, Entree, Pork

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Barbeque Pork Butt

  1. tumbleweedcontessa

    April 15, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I know what you mean about this Spring weather. I’m almost ready to say bring on the heat of summer. I just grill too. This sounds delicious.

    We’re having a party at Tumbleweed Contessa – What’d You Do This Weekend? I’d love for you to share this. http://www.tumbleweedcontessa.com/blog/

    Linda

     

Leave a Reply

 
