RSS

Mini Corn Dog Bites

05 Jun

For some unknown reason, I have been wanting a mini muffin pan. I had these visions of making all sorts of breakfast muffin type things that I could pop out of the freezer and heat up for my kids for breakfast, or healthier snack type muffins that I could make in bulk and take with us on summer picnics and the like.

Well, I finally got my muffin pan, and what was the first thing I made in it??
Mini corn dog bites!!!

DSCF0011
I had seen a sign up at a fast food place for mini corn dogs a few days ago and it’s been in the back of my head ever since. This was super easy to make, and it proved a huge hit with the kids. I plan to make this for all sorts of kid playdates, birthday parties, just about any occasion that calls for a gathering of kids! The best part is, we ate about half of what I made, and I tossed the rest in a freezer bag and froze them, so I can pop them out and heat them back up a few at a time when needed!

Mini Corn Dog Bites
Ingredients:
Hot dogs (1 hot dog 5 bites)
1 cup Corn Meal
1 cup Flour
3 Tbsp Sugar
4 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Salt
1 cup Milk
1 egg + 1 egg white
1/4 cup Vegetable oil

Directions:
Boil hotdogs and cook them fully and preheat your oven to 400. When the hotdogs are cooked, slice into bit sized pieces. I only had 3 hotdogs on hand, so I made 15 corn dog muffins and made the rest plain corn bread bites.

DSCF0005

While that is going on, make up your corn bread batter. Combine the corn meal, flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Add in your milk, egg, egg white, and oil then mix well until smooth.
Grease your mini muffin pan VERY liberally. I like to use a Pam Spray and really get in there with it – you’ll appreciate it when it’s time to get those muffins out, trust me!

DSCF0007

I poured in roughly 1 TBSP of the muffin mix into each cup, and then dunked a hot dog chunk in, giving it a little push to get it all the way in there.

Bake for 17-18 minutes.

DSCF0010

Yum! If you greased your pan well enough, you can just flip your tray over and your muffins will slide nicely out for you. Serve up with some ketchup or mustard for dipping and enjoy!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
